Married a Music Man

For several days now my husband has been itching to get tickets to the upcoming David Gray concert. He wanted to make sure that we would be near a computer at 10am today so we could log-on to Ticketmaster as soon as the sale started. We rarely go to concerts anymore even though it was a huge part of our pre-kid life together. We are both big music fans.

I love David Gray. I have seen him live before and am thrilled to see him again. (Here it comes…) BUT, given our current uncertain financial situation right now, I was not enthusiastic about this unnecessary purchase.

My husband is a music editor & like so many people in LA, he works in an industry where you make money when you are on a job, and then you live off that money while you are between jobs. We are grateful that he has work right now. And though I really want to remain optimistic, I worry.

Now, you can see what’s coming, right? What I should have done is take a moment to ponder: How does a wife approach this conversation gently? BUT of course I didn’t and instead said something really irritating about how we cant afford this because of X, Y, and Z.

My husband is a kind man. He is pretty easy-going and often lets me get my way just to avoid a hassle. But, I could see that there was something different this time. He was firm and non-apologetic. “I really want to see David Gray.” Though it wasn’t said aloud, I also heard “PERIOD” echo in my brain. So, incredibly, I left it alone.

As I rolled it around in my mind, it occurred to me that I am a music lover and would be disappointed at missing yet another concert that I wished I could go to. Yet for him it’s a bit more than that. He is a musician, a composer, a music maker. He dreams music. When we met he was in a touring band and contemplating that as his life for years to come. Instead, he chose me. I can see now that, for him, missing a great concert is like bypassing inspiration. It’s what keeps him dreaming in stereo.

So, we will shell-out close to $200 for mediocre seats and hope the grandparents can watch our kids that night so we wont have to hire a sitter. BUT my husband will get to feel the light around him brighten a bit and I will get to bask in that glow. Also, I’ll get an awesome night out with my honey and, just maybe, will feel my own illumination as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

