Smelly Cat

I found him sleeping in his litter box this morning. I think today may be the day.  Our hospice cat, formerly known as a big strong dude cat,  is so small and weak.  I don’t even know how he made it to the box.  Such a good boy.

He’s been close to the end for a long while now.  Dragging himself out of hiding a few times each day to say hi to the family, (really just the kids), get a pat-pat on his weak spine, and then slowly inch back to his safe spot to sleep.

But today, in the litter box, he looked at me in that way.  He raised his eyes without raising his head.  They were glassy and dull.  My boy is near gone.  My eyes filled with tears, and I whispered my love to him.

We picked him up, wiped him down with a warm wet towel, cleaned his eyes and face, kissed his head, and laid him in his spot to rest.  Then we left the house to go about our saturday.

-jb

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Smelly Cat

  1. Marni says:

    Thanks for all you gave my best friend and her family. Bye Joey… we loved you.

  2. jennbenn18 says:

    Thank you sweet Justine. 🙂

  3. Justine says:

    So sad. xoxo to you and your kitty.

Leave a Reply

