“…said the joker to the thief…”

My inbox yesterday held a “Daily Tune Up” from Yehuda Berg at The Kabbalah Center.  He wrote:

All that Glitters, Is Not Gold

We pick up energy from people. Sometimes we’re so focused on what we’re getting, that we don’t think about where it’s coming from.  Today, be careful who you accept favors from.

So I started reviewing… which of my personal glitterati is not as priceless as I may have hoped?  Perhaps there is some kind of  Human Antiques Roadshow that can help me appraise the people in my life?  How can we determine the fakes from the genuine?

Berg is right about one thing for sure; there are moments when we find ourselves so enamored of the golden calf, we forget to ask why it was given to us.  And where it will lead.

My young daughter used to misquote cutely by saying, “All that glitter is gold.”  We all hold on to that dream somewhere inside.   And, inevitably, if we are bold enough to risk vulnerability and invite others into our hearts,  we will have moments of painful and rude awakening.  Teaching us that that glitter is, occasionally,  just decoration.

But, on the flip side, sometimes we strike gold in a moment of supposed plainness.  Despite the pain driven by falsehoods and fear, I still want to be the person who stops, bends down, and examines the possibility of hidden treasure.

-jrb

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “…said the joker to the thief…”

  1. jennbenn18 says:

    And you make me glad that I post these thoughts publicly. Thanks Justine. ❤

  2. Justine says:

    ” Despite the pain driven by falsehoods and fear, I still want to be the person who stops, bends down, and examines the possibility of hidden treasure.”

    So beautiful. You make me want to pay attention. To allow room to be surprised.

Leave a Reply

