Am I hard enough? Am I rough enough?

That’s right, I’m channeling Mick.  But its for a good cause.  “Beast of Burden” hit me today like a cow in a twister.  Very mooooving.  (Ok, sorry.  That was uncalled for.)

Anyway, today I heard the lyrics on a different level.  Speaking to me about all those “what the fuck?!” moments in relationships.  You know what I’m talking about.  Those situations where you think you’re having a simple conversation about where to go for dinner and it turns out you were actually discussing all the ways in which you disappoint them and remind them of, oh I dont know,  their mother?  Yeah those moments.  But all you really want, in that moment,  is a good meal.

I’ll never be your beast of burden
My back is broad but it’s a hurting
All I want is for you to make love to me
I’ll never be your beast of burden
I’ve walked for miles my feet are hurting
All I want is for you to make love to me

It’s at this point that you start wondering ….

Ain’t I rough enough, ooh baby
Ain’t I tough enough
Ain’t I rich enough, in love enough
Ooh! Ooh! Please

So, you give in to the conversation while your stomach is growling and pretty soon you can see it all a little more clearly…

Yeah, all your sickness
I can suck it up
Throw it all at me
I can shrug it off
There’s one thing baby
That I don’t understand
You keep on telling me
I ain’t your kind of man

And then you’re stuck.  Because even though you may be in a relationship with a bipolar drama-queen, in your mind it still always comes back to:

Am I hard enough?
Am I rough enough?
Am I rich enough?

But, I’m here to tell you, friends, that this is the time, this is the moment, THIS is when your mantra needs to be…

I’ll never be your beast of burden
I’ll never be your beast of burden
Never, never, never, never, never, never, never be

-jrb

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

