I will be hating you for xmas

After getting about 3 or 4 recommendations from friends for the book The Five Love Languages, by Gary Chapman, I finally decided to check it out.  

I fucking hate this book.   On theory alone.

My current cluttered, murky mind leads me to immediately despise all those: self-help, make your relationship work,  men-are-from-mars, transform your love, make your marriage last, overcoming your issues, ten simple solutions, relationship rescue, creating love, kiss my ass books written for all us soggy-hearted lovers who long for hope and clarity in paperback.

To be fair, this book actually has a lot of great information and descriptions of how people can reframe their thinking to recharge their relationship.  So, feel free to pick it up if thats your thing.  But for some reason, right now, in my current life I am more akin to a book like Go The F**k to Sleep, by Adam Mansbach; an honest assessment of how deep love and exhaustion and overwhelm and adoration and mind-blowing anger all coexist within the mandala of our most meaningful relationships.

I actually think we all have hit this wall at sometime.  My guess is that Art Alexakis was in this very state of mind when he wrote these lyrics…

with love,

jrb

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

