My boy builds coffins

There is a belief that some things we do don’t matter.  
“Pointless”.  “Vapid”.  “Worthless”.

There is a belief that some things we do matter.  
And we can point to them and say, “See,  I did that.”  “I matter.”

But some things we do matter – Invisibly.  
Theres no way to prove it.  No flag to wave in the face of people who say we don’t matter.  
Like blessings
and spent kisses. 
Like longing
and love.
Like electric human energy
and connection. 
Like songs sung
and whispers spoken.
Like coffins.

My boy builds coffins and I think it’s a shame
That when each one’s been made, he can’t see it again
He crafts everyone with love and with care
Then it’s thrown in the ground, it just isn’t fair

My boy builds coffins he makes them all day
But it’s not just for work and it isn’t for play
He’s made one for himself
One for me too
One of these days he’ll make one for you

with invisible love, jrb

 

My boy builds coffins (Florence and the Machine)My boy builds coffins with hammers and nails
He doesn’t build ships, he has no use for sails
He doesn’t make tables, dressers or chairs
He can’t carve a whistle cause he just doesn’t careMy boy builds coffins for the rich and the poor
Kings and queens; they’ve all knocked on his door
Beggars and liars, gypsies and thieves
They all come to him ’cause he’s so eager to pleaseMy boy builds coffins he makes them all day
But it’s not just for work and it isn’t for play
He’s made one for himself
One for me too
One of these days he’ll make one for you
For you, for you, for you

My boy builds coffins for better or worse
Some say its a blessing, some say its a curse
He fits them together in sunshine or rain
Each one is unique, no two are the same

My boy builds coffins and I think it’s a shame
That when each one’s been made, he can’t see it again
He crafts everyone with love and with care
Then it’s thrown in the ground, it just isn’t fair

My boy builds coffins he makes them all day
But it’s not just for work and it isn’t for play
He’s made one for himself
One for me too
One of these days he’ll make one for you

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

