You can bleed on me

PRESS PLAY:

The first dance wedding song is typically a pretty big deal.  Engaged couples often toil over what song will encapsulate  their relationship, their future, their love, whatever poignancy will represent their new beginning.  This is when, as  wedding guests, we get that silly grin and pretend to enjoy our voyeuristic moment with Celene Dion or Shania Twain.

We all have known  couples who choose questionable songs which lead their wedding guests to give one another uncomfortable sideways glances asking “Really?  Have they listened to the lyrics of Every Breath You Take?”

For our moment on the dance floor, my husband and I took a different approach.  When I told my mother that we had chosen “Let it Bleed” as our first dance song, the look on her face spoke volumes.  And, it told me that our choice was perfectly us.

The hubs and I both knew that marriage is a risk of the greatest proportions.  There is nothing else (barring the birth of a child) that people willingly decide should be “forever”.  We both grew up as children of divorce and remarriage.  We both still bare  scars (and benefits) from our parents choices.  Our private engagement toast to one another was “Good Luck!”  So, one thing we did know going into it, was that we could only do our very best to make it work in every moment, every day, every passing year as husband and wife.  

We knew that marriage, for us, was about having – and being- someone to lean on.  We also knew that sometimes we would have to willingly wear each others tears and blood and gooeyness.  

Weddings are clean.  Marriage is not.  Committing to someone who will hold your hand through the mess of it is the key.  Once you can roll in the muck together without letting go, then, through muddy kisses you can be led to the shower.

~ with dirty love, jrb

 

Let it Bleed, The Rolling Stones
 
Well, we all need someone we can lean on
And if you want it, you can lean on me
Yeah, we all need someone we can lean on
And if you want it, you can lean on me

She said, “My breasts, they will always be open
Baby, you can rest your weary head right on me
And there will always be a space in my parking lot
When you need a little coke and sympathy”

Yeah, we all need someone we can dream on
And if you want it, baby, well you can dream on me
Yeah, we all need someone we can cream on
And if you want to, well you can cream on me

I was dreaming of a steel guitar engagement
When you drunk my health in scented jasmine tea
But you knifed me in my dirty filthy basement
With that jaded, faded, junky nurse
Oh what pleasant company

We all need someone we can feed on
And if you want it, well you can feed on me
Take my arm, take my leg, oh baby don’t you take my head?

Yeah, we all need someone we can bleed on
Yeah, and if you want it, baby, well you can bleed on me
Yeah, we all need someone we can bleed on
Yeah, yeah, and if you want it, baby, why don’cha bleed on me
All over

Ahh, bleed it alright, bleed it alright, bleed it alright
You can bleed all over me
bleed it alright, bleed it alright, bleed it alright
You can come all over me 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

