Future Starts Slow

0Lpxu17

You can exhale, you can cough
You can swallow, or get off
You can lick, or go soft
You can blow whats left of my right mind

Enter the future with a trampoline, slam-dunk bounce
or a numbed-out drag.
We make the choice again and again and again.
We opt for the dragging so we can deny the choice.
Its hard to be hard I guess.
Or maybe we all secretly want to be dragged.

Breathe the future into me, love.  Deep into my dirty lungs.
Unfold the map so we can pretend to know where we are going.
Faster, baby.  I cant stand the speed limits.
I could never get back up when the future starts so slow.

You can exhale, you can cough
You can swallow, or get off
You can lick, or go soft
You can blow whats left of my right mind

~jrb

PRESS PLAY

“Future Starts Slow”, The Kills
You can holler, you can wail
You can swing, you can flail
You can fuck like a broken sail
But I’ll never give you up
If I ever give you up my heart will surely fail
And after all God can keep my soul
England have my bones
But don’t ever give me up
I could never get back up when the future starts so slow
No longing for the moonlight
No longing for the sun
No longer will I curse the bad I’ve done
If there’s a time when your feelings gone, I wanna feel it
You can holler, you can wail
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
You can swing, you can flail
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
(I don’t mind)
There’s a time for the second best
And there’s a time when the feeling’s gone
But it’s hard to be hard I guess
When you’re shaking like a dog
You can holler, you can wail
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
You can swing, you can flail
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
You can holler, you can wail
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
You can swing, you can flail
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
(I don’t mind)
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
You can holler, you can wail
You can blow what’s left of my right mind
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

