Born

Tilt-o-wheel, spinning off its axis.  Watch it roll.
Bouncy house, death-bound assent into the sky.  Watch it fly.
And all we can do is sing along.

La la la la la…

Like Bob Marley, I was born to bring the love into the living room.
I can feel it sweating through my skin.
Born to seek out illuminated soul fissures that sideways glances don’t notice.
I can see them with eyes closed.

Heart break ruptures slowly.
While sensuous smiles tease like evaporating water.
Flavors never meant to mix
swirl together like leaves in a wind tunnel.

Even with feet encased in dried mud, I try to move.
And yet…
It takes my own tears to melt the stones.

~jrb

 

Born, Over the Rhine
I was born to laugh
I learned to laugh through my tears
I was born to love
I’m gonna learn to love without fear
Pour me a glass of wine
Talk deep into the night
Who knows what we’ll find
Intuition, deja vu
The Holy Ghost haunting you
Whatever you got
I don’t mind
Put your elbows on the table
I’ll listen long as I am able
There’s nowhere I’d rather be
Secret fears, the supernatural
Thank God for this new laughter
Thank God the joke’s on me
We’ve seen the landfill rainbow
We’ve seen the junkyard of love
Baby it’s no place for you and me
I was born to laugh
I learned to laugh through my tears
I was born to love
I’m gonna learn to love without fear
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

