It took a while to understand…

tumblr_ln81nzXebr1qchruf

All wrapped up into one petite package.
I’m a mother.
A woman.
Sister.
Daughter.
Friend.
Aunt.
Teacher.
Lover.

All these descriptors are never changing.
I am.  All these things.  
But, am I a wife?
When I say “we are separated” have I already lost this title?
When do we stop being what we are?

There’s no mercy in a live wire
No rest in freedom at all.

Am I me, whoever that is, separate from 22 years, 2 children, 10 nieces and nephews, 5 cats, 11 years of parenting, 4 graduations,  and 6 homes?
Maybe its easy.  Maybe I’m the old me.
Maybe I’m the new me.
Maybe there is no me at all.

Of the choices we are given it’s no choice at all.
The proof is in the fire
You touch before it moves away.
But you must always know how long to stay and when to go.

When change is all thats left to count on
and talking becomes just stupid words of pride
It can take a while to understand…

the beauty of just letting go.
I’m gonna let me fly.

~jrb

PRESS PLAY:

Let Him Fly, Patty Griffin
Ain’t no talkin to this man
Ain’t no pretty other side
Ain’t no way to understand the stupid words of pride
It would take an acrobat, and I already tried all that so
I’m gonna let him fly
Things can move at such a pace
The second hand just waved goodbye
You know the light has left his face
But you can’t recall just where or why
So there was really nothing to it
I just went and cut right through it
I said I’m gonna let him flyThere’s no mercy in a live wire
No rest at all in freedom
Of the choices we are given it’s no choice at all
The proof is in the fire
You touch before it moves away
But you must always know how long to stay and when to go

And there ain’t no talkin to this man
He’s been tryin to tell me so
It took awhile to understand the beauty of just letting go
Cause it would take an acrobat, I already tried all that
I’m gonna let him fly
I’m gonna let him fly
I’m gonna let him fly

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

