the blues has a way with women like me

picblues

PRESS HERE FOR THE BLUES

Maybe it’s because I already had more than my share of saki at dinner
Maybe it’s because the bartender gave me a heavy pour of gin, with a wink.
Or maybe it’s because, oh baby, the blues has has a way with women like me.

I let go.  
I let go of the creases around my eyes that squint into the future.
I let go of the heaviness in my hips as they remembered their groove.
I let go of the tears that cloud my sight
I closed my eyes and saw the music.

Maybe it’s because, between sets, the drummer
saw me
and asked if I’m a drummer too.  When I said “I used to be,” he said,
“No.  You still are.  Have a good night, drummer girl.”
Maybe it’s because my partner in crime smiled at me as I let myself go.
Or maybe it’s because, oh baby, the blues has has a way with women like me.

~jrb

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment